Panel 4 | Research Culture

/ Conferences / 2019 / Panel 4 | Research Culture

Panel 4 | Research Culture

Panel 4 | Research Culture

Chair: Catriona MacCallum (Director of Open Science, Hindawi).

Panel 4 | Research Culture

Lecture length: 01:11:54
Uploaded: 11/05/2018

How to use this player:

Play video
Show volume or mute/unmute
1080pHD Switch between different video quality versions
Open Slide Explorer - to see all slides
Show/hide slide carousel
Full screen
Help panel
Small video layout
Dual screen video and slide default layout
Audio-only layout
Fast forward to the time/slide of your choosing
0:00/00:00 0.0% watched
1080pHD 0:00 1080pHD 480p

Information about this Video

Catriona MacCallum, Director of Open Science, Hindawi.

Noémie Aubert Bonn is a PhD student who does research on research. Originally from Québec (Canada) where she studied cognitive neurosciences, Noémie rapidly became concerned about core aspects of research, in particular publication ethics and research integrity. Leaving her field aside, she decided to see what can be done to make science better. From an internship at Cochrane, a masters of bioethics, and a lot of house (and country) moving, Noémie is now finishing her PhD in Hasselt University (Belgium) in which she studied the attribution of success in science and the way in which the reward mechanisms in place affect research practices and research integrity. You can find more information at or on her orcid 0000-0003-0252-2331. See slides here.

J. Britt Holbrook (ORCID: 0000-0002-5804-0692) earned his PhD in Philosophy from Emory University in 2004. His postdoctoral research at the University of North Texas from 2005 – 2013 explored the use of broader societal impacts criteria in the peer review of grant proposals, ethics education in science and technology, open access, and the development of quantitative metrics for broader impacts. Holbrook was Visiting Assistant Professor in the School of Public Policy at Georgia Tech from 2013 – 2015. In September 2015, Holbrook became Assistant Professor in the Department of Humanities at New Jersey Institute of Technology. As a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s Committee on Scientific Freedom and Responsibility (2012 – 2018), Holbrook was one of the co-authors of the AAAS Statement on Scientific Freedom and Responsibility. Holbrook also served as a member of the European Commission Expert Group on Indicators for Researchers’ Engagement with Open Science and its Impacts (2019). See slides here.

Professor Cameron Neylon is Professor of Research Communication at the Centre for Culture and Technology at Curtin University and well known agitator for opening up the process of research. His current work focusses on how the cultures of research affect and effect change in research communications. He speaks regularly on issues of Open Science including Open Access publication, Open Data, and Open Source as well as the wider technical and social issues of applying the opportunities the internet brings to the practice of science. He was named as a SPARC Innovator in July 2010 for work on the Panton Principles and was a co-author of the Altmetrics manifesto and the Principles for Open Scholarly Infrastructures. He is a proud recipient of the Blue Obelisk for contributions to open data. He writes regularly at his blog, Science in the Open.